EthOR Award

The EthOR award had 5th edition at the occasion of EURO20 in Dublin 23-26 June 2019

The EthOR Award is organised by the EURO Working Group on “Ethics and OR”, a network that gathers scientists, lecturers and professionals in the field of Operational Research who are committed to inspire OR researchers, teachers, students, consultants and decision-makers to integrate ethical aspects and considerations in their OR research, teaching, consultancy and decision-making.

The purpose of this award is to distinguish outstanding work by OR researchers and practitioners promoting ethical dimensions in OR-based studies. Our aim is to encourage in particular – but not exclusively – young researchers, as members of the future generation of managers and decision-makers, in developing and implementing Operations Research techniques for solving contemporary problems presenting ethical dimensions. Many fields of application may be considered like energy, environment, health care, peace studies, economics, corporate social responsibility, finance and others.

You can find the award rules below.

The award nominee(s) will receive an official certificate of excellence in developing OR techniques and/or applications contributing to ethical decision-making and a reward of 500 Euro.

Eligibility conditions

To be eligible for the EthOR award 2019 an abstract must be introduced and accepted for presentation in the final programme of the stream OR & Ethics during the Euro20 conference in Dublin

Selection Process

The EWG Board will designate an EthOR Award committee for evaluating the presentations made during the conference. If a member of this committee wishes to present an abstract or is one of its co-authors, this presentation is excluded from the competition. The accepted abstract admitted for the award must be presented by the author(s) present at the conference in Dublin. Presentations by video conference or by someone not being an author of the accepted abstract will not be eligible.

The following non-exhaustive aspects will be scrutinised by the committee:

1. Novelty and originality of the contribution.
2. Pertinence and applicability for solving contemporary issues with ethical dimensions.
3. Explicit references to the contributions to Ethics and OR
4. Quality and clarity of the presentation.

If none of the presentation satisfies those conditions the award committee has sovereign rights in deciding not to attribute the EthOR award in 2019.

The nominee(s) will be announced by the award committee chair during the last session of the stream on “Ethics and OR”. The certificate(s) and the reward of 500 Euro will then be handed over to the winner(s) by the chair.
Prof. Pierre Kunsch [email protected]; [email protected]
Prof. Dorien De Tombe [email protected]

Past laureates and finalists of the EthOR award:

The 1st edition of the EthOR award in Rome 2013 was attributed to Robyn Moore of New Zealand with the paper “Reaching consensus on water reforms: a case of Community Operational Research in Kapiti, New Zealand”. Other finalists were Ruth Carrasco (Spain) and S. Yamina (India)

The 2nd edition of the EthOR award in Glasgow EURO 2015 was attributed to Anastasiia Lissagor from Poland with the paper “Modeling of sustainable development for municipalities using the complex indicators’ structure”. Other finalists were Lamis Essam Amer (Egypt) and Maryam Goreishi (Iran)

The 3rd edition of the EthOR award in Poznan EURO 2016 was attributed to Ross Kozakov from Bulgaria with the paper ‘Exploring “cultural corruption” in financial organizations: A hybrid modelling approach”. Other finalists were Omar Rifki (Japan) and Irais Mora Ochomogo (Mexico)

The 4th edition of the EthOR award In Valencia EURO 2018 was attributed to Hans Derks from The Netherlands with the paper “Inhabitants take responsibility of their health position”. Other finalists were Simon Henk Luimstra (The Netherlands) and Bela Vizvari (North Cyprus)


Winner of the EthOR award 2018 in Valencia 2018

The 5th edition of the EthOR award In Dublin EURO 2019 was attributed to Mischel Carmen N. Belderrain (Brazil) with the paper “Multimethodology for improving the inclusion of students with Special Education Needs”. The other finalists were Regiane Máximo Siqueira (Brazil); Cindy-Ricarda Roberts and Magdalena Wagner (Germany). (On the picture from left to right: Pierre Kunsch, Mischel Carmen Belderrain (award winner), Cindy-Ricarda Roberts, Ulrike Reisach, Cathal Brugha)