TSL Dissertation Prize 2019

Nominations are invited for 2019 TSL Dissertation Prize Competition, sponsored by the INFORMS Society on Transportation Science and Logistics. This award is the oldest and most prestigious honor for doctoral dissertations in the transportation science and logistics area. The award is accompanied by a $500 honorarium for the winner. In addition, the winner and the recipient of an honorable mention (if any) each receives an 8×10 plaque announcing the award.

The following criteria will be used in judging candidate dissertations:

Fundamental contribution and originality of the ideas or methods.
Practical importance or applicability in solving important real problems.
Clarity and excellence of the exposition.
Eligible doctoral dissertations are those completed and submitted between June 1, 2018 and May 31, 2019 in the general area of transportation science and logistics.

To be considered, a dissertation must be nominated by the thesis supervisor, who should submit the following items, all electronically in Adobe PDF format with the shown filenames:

– An electronic copy of the letter of nomination from the dissertation supervisor supporting the submission and stating his/her assessment of why the thesis is worthy of the award (candidate name-NL.pdf),
– An electronic abstract of 300 words without formulas or mathematical notation (candidate name-SA.pdf),
– An electronic copy of the extended abstract (3-5 pages), separate from the thesis (candidate name-EA.pdf), and
– An electronic copy of the dissertation  (candidate name-D.pdf)

The documents listed above should be uploaded using this link. After submitting your files, send an e-mail notification to [email protected]. The deadline for receipt of submissions is June 30, 2019. The recommendations of the judges will be announced at the 2019 INFORMS Annual Meeting during the TSL Society business meeting.

2019 Committee Chair

Sandra Eksioglu
Industrial Engineering
Clemson University
[email protected]

2019 Committee Members

Emma Frejinger
Computer Science and Operations Research
Université de Montréal

John Gunnar Carlsson
Industrial and Systems Engineering
University of Southern California

Maximilian Schiffer
Operations and Supply Chain Management
Technical University of Munich

Yafeng Yin
Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Michigan